Take your TREC Legal Update I and II with Onward School of Real Estate. The charge is $34 per course for 4 hours CE credit. Take both courses for a total of 8 hours CE credit. If you take both courses on the same day the cost is only $60. Both of these classes are required by TREC every renewal cycle. They may be taken in any order. This class is NON-REFUNDABLE.
All Legal 1 classes are from 8 to noon mountain time / All Legal 2 classes for from 12:30 to 4:30 mountain time
Second Quarter 2021 Legal Update 1 & 2 Zoom Schedule
April 27 - Tuesday
May 11 - Tuesday
June 9 - Tuesday
Become a Real Estate Sales Agent
A sales agent is a person who is licensed by the Real Estate Commission to act as an agent on behalf of a Real Estate Broker and their clients. A sales agent must be sponsored by a licensed Broker in order to perform any act of real estate services.
You have one year from the date your application is filed to meet all license requirements. Once you have met all the requirements to get your license, including finding a broker sponsorship, TREC will send an active sales agent license to your broker and to you via email!
Citizen of the United States or lawfully admitted alien
18 years of age or older
Meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
Consider requesting a Fitness Determination before applying for the license
Complete Your Qualifying Education
180 classroom hours of the following qualifying real estate courses
Principles of Real Estate I (30 classroom hours)
Principles of Real Estate II (30 classroom hours)
Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)
Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)
Promulgated Contract Forms (30 classroom hours)
Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours)
Education course completion documents must be submitted to TREC after applying online or with your paper application.
File Your Application
Submit your application and fee to become a Sales Agent using the Texas Real Estate Commission's Online Services. If you don’t already have a username and password for TREC's Online Services, register now. If you have registered online with TALCB or TREC in the past, log in now.
Application Fee is $185.
Apply by Mail
If you prefer, you can also apply for your Sales Agent license using TREC's paper application. This may take longer to process.
Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check
You are required by law to have fingerprints on file with the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) so a background check can be performed. Fingerprints on file for other agencies will not be accepted. Cost is $38.25.
A license will not issue if the background check has not been passed. Expect a delay if you are notified of an investigation into your background history.
Take the Exam
License exams are administered by PearsonVUE, a testing service company. Cost is $54.
You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook.
If you fail the exam three times, additional education will be necessary.
Find a Sponsor
After meeting the above requirements, you will be issued an inactive license. You need to be sponsored by an active Texas licensed Broker to work. You can complete a sponsorship request using TREC’s online services. Once the broker has accepted your request, your active license will be issued, and you can work as a Sales Agent!
Onboard with Your Sponsor’s Brokerage
Sponsoring Brokerages charge different fees to onboard.
Join the National, State, and Local Association of Realtors and MLS
Fees run approximately $700 to $900 depending upon the month you join.